Mongolia to join the International Uranium Enrichment Center

According to a press report, on November 1, 2010 Mongolia and Russia will sign an intergovernmental agreement that will start the process of Mongolia's joining the International Uranium Enrichment Center at Angarsk.

Currently three countries have an ownership stake in the Angarsk center - Russia, Kazakhstan, and Ukraine, which became a full member in October 2010. Armenia signed an intergovernmental agreement with Russia in February 2008, but its membership has not been approved yet. Mongolia first expressed interest in IUEC in 2009, when it signed an agreement on establishing a uranium-mining joint venture with Russia.